This original photograph is currently for sale. At the present time, originals are not offered for sale through the Robert FERD Frank - Website secure checkout system. Please contact the artist directly to inquire about purchasing this original.
Photograph - Fine Art Inkjet Print On Various Fine Art Medium
Detail of Busch Memorial Stadium, later known as Busch Stadium, was the home of the St. Louis Cardinals National League baseball team from May 12, 1966 to October 19, 2005...It opened four days after the last game was played in their old home, Sportsman's Park (which had also been known since 1953 as Busch Stadium). It was sometimes referred to as a "Cookie cutter"-style stadium, and supported both football and baseball...The stadium was designed by Sverdrup & Parcel and built by Grn & Bilfinger. Edward Durrell Stone designed the park's most enduring feature, the roof's 96-arch "Crown of Arches," The Crown echoed the iconic Gateway Arch, which was completed only a year before Busch Stadium officially opened. It was one of the first multipurpose facilities built in the United States from the early 1960s through the early 1980s, along with those in Washington, New York, Houston, Atlanta, Pittsburgh, San Diego, Cincinnati, Philadelphia, Minneapolis and some others. The original design of the stadium had called for a baseball-only format, but the design was altered to accommodate football, a fact which arguably shortened its existence. The stadium was demolished by wrecking ball in late 2005, and part of its former footprint is used by its replacement stadium of the same name
December 15th, 2013
Viewed 568 Times - Last Visitor from New York, NY on 12/08/2023 at 4:51 PM